Jelly Roll & Lainey Wilson Win Big iHeartRadio Music Awards

April 3, 2024 - News

Jelly Roll and Lainey Wilson took home some of the biggest awards at this year’s iHeartRadio Music Awards and left it all on the stage with an epic performance of Save Me.

Jelly Roll won two epic awards, Best New Artist (Country) and Best New Artist (Pop), while Lainey Wilson took home the award for Country Song of the Year (for Heart Like A Truck). Morgan Wallen was crowned Country Artist of the Year, and sadly, Jelly Roll’s Need A Favor lost Rock Song of the Year to Linkin Park’s Lost.

In his emotional and amusing acceptance speech, Jelly Roll said, “My mama always told me I had a face for radio, baby! Man, I remember being a kid in the backseat of the car with my brothers. I had three older brothers and an older sister. All we did was ride around and listen to the radio, and we sang every single word.

“I never would have dreamed I would be one of the voices coming through your radio and to be the Best New Country Artist to represent country music and the Best New Pop Artist. You don’t know what it means to a kid like me. I was thinking about it… What does it mean when a guy like me has the opportunity to be the new pop artist of the year at [the] iHeart Radio Awards?

“It means that God will always use the least likely messenger with the biggest message, every single time. You can take it to the bank, baby. I love you, Jesus, and I love you, Bunnie, my wife. Thank you for everything.”

You can watch his acceptance speech and the performance of Save Me below.

In a live review of Lainey Wilson at Margaret Court Arena, Countrytown’s Monique La Terra stated, “The country music renaissance has a warrior queen, and her name is Lainey Wilson”. You can read the review here to learn more about how the show went down.

Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson, Keith Urban and more are set to perform at this year’s CMT Awards, which take place on Sunday, 7 April.

Embedded Content

Embedded Content

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors