Lainey Wilson & Chris Stapleton Win Big At 2024 ACM Awards

May 20, 2024 - News

This year’s edition of the ACM Awards went down a treat in Texas last Thursday (May 16), with the Academy of Country Music honouring some of the brightest stars in modern country.

Lainey Wilson and Chris Stapleton were the two biggest winners this year, with both artists taking home three awards each. Among Wilson’s haul was the prestigious title of Entertainer Of The Year, beating out Stapleton, Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Morgan Wallen. She also won the awards for Female Artist Of The Year and Music Event Of The Year (alongside Jelly Roll for Save Me), while Stapleton won Male Artist Of The Year, Album Of The Year (for Higher) and Artist-Songwriter Of The Year.

Wilson also opened the ceremony – streamed live from the Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas – with a striking rendition of God Blessed Texas that merged into the first live performance of her latest single, Hang Tight Honey. In accepting her trophy for Entertainer Of The Year, the singer-songwriter said: “Y’all I remember being a little girl and I would climb out on the top of our roof. I’d open my window and climb out. I’d count all the stars and I’d look up and see the planes flying over my little town of 200 people.

“I’d dream about being up there in one of those planes and this year it is so crazy. We have already toured the UK, Europe and Australia and we’re about to start our American leg. The funny thing is that I still feel like that little girl. I really do. I feel like I still climb out on the roof and I look at the stars, except I feel like I’m a little more eye-level with them now. Everybody in this category has loved on me and believed in me, took me out on the road, sang songs with me, wrote with me, encouraged me every step of the way and I love y’all for that. I have the best fans in the world. Thank you so much. God bless y’all.”

Other key winners from the 2024 ACM Awards include Dan + Shay for Duo Of The Year, Old Dominion for Group Of The Year, Megan Moroney for New Female Artist Of The Year, Nate Smith for New Male Artist Of The Year, Tigirlily Gold for New Duo Or Group Of The Year, and Jessie Jo Dillon for Songwriter Of The Year. Luke Combs also scored the gong for Single Of The Year with Fast Car, while Jordan DavisNext Thing You Know was crowned Song Of The Year, and the music video for Parker McCollum’s Burn It Down won Visual Media Of The Year.

Head here to see the full list of winners from the 2024 ACM Awards.

Embedded Content

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors