Mel Parsons, Colby T. Helms & Hannah Gillespie: Highlights From This Week’s ‘Grass Roots’

March 19, 2024 - News

Every week, ABC Country‘s Grass Roots program shines a light on the best independently released Australian country content. Selected from the hundreds of new tracks submitted, the one-hour program is now available on demand as well as premiering each Monday at 9pm on ABC Country, showing the health of Aussie country music across all its sub-genres. Here are four of this week’s tracks you should have on your radar. 

Head here to have a listen to this week’s full episode of Grass Roots.

Mel Parsons – Little Sadness

Little Sadness is the second track to be released from Kiwi singer-songwriter Mel Parsons’ forthcoming album out later this year. Downbeat and hypnotic, the song captures the melancholic and beautiful juxtaposition of living. Delicate lyricism showcases Parsons’ skill for transforming often complex subjects into relatable indie-folk tunes of both light and dark.

Embedded Content

Colby T. Helms – Higher Ground

Colby T. Helms is a 21-year-old Appalachian phenom has opened for Charley Crockett, Molly Tuttle, Old Crow Medicine Show and Marty Stuart, among many others. Tales Of Misfortune is Helms’ eagerly awaited debut album, and Higher Ground is the exciting lead single.

Embedded Content

Hannah Gillespie – Mr Sun (ft. Bill Chambers)

Mr Sun, a duet with Bill Chambers, is the latest single from Hannah Gillespie’s album Paper Heart Angel. Written for her by her uncle Gerry Gillespie on the birth of her son, and recorded in the style of an old country waltz, it’s a song about not letting your life go by, taking the chances and opportunities that come your way, the sun setting with a quiet whiskey, and then coming up the next day full of possibilities.

Embedded Content

You can listen to the latest full episode of ABC Country’s Grass Roots here.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors