Cody Johnson

Cody Johnson (born May 21, 1987 in Sebastopol, Texas) is an American Texas country singer-songwriter. He has self-released six albums; the sixth album Gotta Be Me debuted at number two on Billboard’s Country Albums chart.

Johnson began singing and playing guitar when he was twelve years old. In 2006, he formed the Cody Johnson Band with his dad Carl and drummer Nathan Reedy. Together they recorded an album, Black and White Label. In 2006, the band added a lead guitar player, Matt Rogers, and recorded a live album, Live and Rocking, at Shenanigans and Confetti’s Club in Huntsville. Following the release of the album, Johnson’s father quit the band.

By 2009, Danny Salinas joined the band on bass guitar. Their first professionally produced album, Six Strings One Dream, was released in September 2009. Three singles from the album reached the top 10 of the Texas music charts. Following the release of the album, the band added Chris Whitten on fiddle and Jeff Smith on lead guitar. Jody Bartula replaced Whitten on fiddle in 2010.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors